HOME
 
Weekly Poll
Question for the week of: Monday 04/14 - Sunday 04/20
What was your favorite part of One Spark?
The creators' projects
The food
The atmosphere
I didn't go
What's your opinion on the issues? The Daily Record will have a question each week and it's your chance to make yourself heard.

Poll Results
Monday 04/07 - Sunday 04/13
What do you think about Florida lawmakers considering making it illegal to sell electronic cigarettes to minors?
The results through Internet voting:
Agree - 92%
Disagree - 8%
Last Week
Month
3 Months

Legal Association Calendar

This directory includes contact information and news from area legal associations. Every effort has been made to obtain accurate information and any corrections will be appreciated. Information for this directory should be submitted to editorial@baileypub.com or faxed to 353-2628. If your association is not included, call Karen Mathis at 356-2466.

Updated: 01/02/2012

The Jacksonville Bar Association

(Susan Sowards, executive director, 399-4486 or www.jaxbar.org. Michael Freed, president, 366-1504 or mr.freed@bmdpl.com)

Jan. 10: Elder Law Section Meeting, The JBA office, noon.

Jan. 18: Judicial Relations Committee, Marks Gray, noon.

Jan. 20: The JBA Members luncheon, Hyatt Downtown, noon.

Jan. 26: “Running your own firm” CLE, Florida Coastal School of Law, 1:30-4:30 p.m.

Feb. 2: ADR Practitioners’ Section Meeting, “Dealing with Pro Se Litigants,” The JBA office, noon.

Feb. 14: Elder Law Section Meeting, “Guardianship Roundtable,” The JBA office, noon.

Feb. 15: The JBA Board Meeting, The JBA office, noon.

Feb. 15: Judicial Relations Committee, Marks Gray, noon.

Feb. 23-27: CLE Cruise at Sea.

Feb. 27: The JBA Past Presidents’ Meeting, The University Club, noon.

Jacksonville Area Legal Aid

(Christa Figgins, development director, 356-8371, ext. 316 or www.jaxlegalaid.org)

Jacksonville Women Lawyers Association

(Stephanie Harriett, president, 630-2404 or harriett@coj.net)

Jan. 12: Luncheon, The River Club.

Feb. 9: Luncheon, The River Club.

Feb. 9: JALA fundraiser.

March 8: Luncheon, The River Club.

April 12: Luncheon, The River Club.

May 10: Luncheon, The River Club.

June 7: Judicial Reception, contact Vanessa Zamora Newtson at 396.6100 or vanessan@markrosenblumlaw.com.

Federal Bar Association Jacksonville Chapter

(Lori K. Mans, president, 356-8900 or lmans@constangy.com. The association’s website is www.jacksonvillefederalbarassociation.org.)

Hispanic Bar Association of Northeast Florida

(Ricardo Bedoya, president, 353-2000 or ricardo.bedoya@hklaw.com; Andrew Abramovich, president-elect, 353-0939 or aabramovich@boyd-jenerette.com)

The Jacksonville Bar Association Young Lawyers Section

(Elizabeth Howard, president, 353-6245 or ehoward@boyd-jenerette.com)

Jacksonville Association of Defense Counsel

(Michael McCoy, president, 398-0900 or MMcCoy@marksgray.com)

Northeast Chapter, Florida Association of Criminal Defense Attorneys

(www.nefacdl.org)

Jacksonville Asian American Bar Association

(Maria Aguila, president, 638-1338 or maria.aguila@aguilalaw.com)

Northeast Florida Chapter of Friends of 440 Scholarship Fund Inc.

(Blake Hood or Heather Byrer Carbone, co-chairs, 353-6241)

The group meets the first Friday of every month at 4:30 p.m. at The Mudville Grille in the St. Nicholas area.

Christian Legal Society

(Jeanne Helton, president, jhelton@smithhulsey.com)

Luncheons at The University Club every second Friday of the month except January, July and August. For more information, email Helton.

Jacksonville Beaches Bar Association

(Bryan Goode III, president, 247-1755)

Meets the third Thursday of the month at The Wine Bar at 320 N. First St. in Jacksonville Beach

Jacksonville Bankruptcy Bar Association

(Mark Mitchell, president, 346-5711 or mmitchell@rtlaw.com. Barbara Campbell, association administrator, 358-6465 or bcampbell@ch13jaxfl.com. The association’s website is www.jaxbkybar.com)

Jan. 25: Noon, The River Club, Luncheon. Florida First District Court of Appeal Judge William Van Nortwick Jr. will speak about pro bono work.

D.W. Perkins Bar Association

(Pauline Drake, president, 630-2581 or pdrake@coj.net)

Thursday: Monthly meeting, noon, Duval County Courthouse, Room 5050. Immediately followed by CLE seminar, “The Anatomy of a Trial,” by A. Wellington Barlow.

Catholic Lawyers Guild

(Christine Russell, president, 398-3911 or crussell@rtlaw.com)

Jan. 10: Lunch meeting, The University Club. Speaker: Rev. Slawomir Bielasiewicz and Deacon Jeff Burgess, “A Personal Journey of Faith.”

March 13: Lunch meeting, The University Club. Speaker: Eric Johnson, “Evangelization & Our Unique History.”

May 8: Lunch meeting, The University Club. Speaker: Mayor Alvin Brown, “My Faith & Public Service.”

Nassau County Bar Association

(Robert Bernard, president, 261-2600 or bob@eightflagslaw.com)

Jacksonville Chapter of Association of Legal Administrators

(Leonard Doty, president, 237-1183 or Leonarddoty@yahoo.com)

American Board of Trial Advocates Jacksonville Chapter

(Dianne Weaver, president, 260-5122 or dweaver@weaverandweaverlaw.com)

Jacksonville Justice Association

(Fred Catfish Abbott, president. David Dunlap, vice president. Megan Abbott, executive director, 292-1111.)

Legal Marketing Association Southeastern Chapter, Jacksonville City Group.

(Jessica Sloan, chair-elect, 346-5757 or jsloan@rtlaw.com)

E. Robert Williams American Inn of Court

(Michael Crumpler, president, 704-0652 or crumplerlaw@bellsouth.net or Allison Hauser, past president, 807-2160 or ahauser@marksgray.com. Website is www.innsofcourt.org.)

All meetings begin at 6 p.m. with dinner served at 7 p.m. at Epping Forest Yacht Club.

Jan. 24: 6 p.m., Winter Meeting.

March 6: 6 p.m., Spring Meeting.

April 17: 6 p.m., Spring Meeting.

Northeast Florida Paralegal Association

(Kathryn Howell, president, 345-3275 or Kathryn.howell@adblegal.com; Margaret Costa, first vice president, matsoc926@bellsouth.com)

Paralegal Association of Florida Inc., First Coast Chapter

(Kim Schenkel, president, Schenkel@jaxlegal.com or 249-9030; Tana Stringfellow, first vice president, TStringfellow@foley.com or 359-8741)

Jan. 19: 5:30-7:30 p.m., dinner CLE, Crowne Plaza hotel.

Published for 26,370 consecutive weekdays
 
Bailey Publishing and Communications, Inc. Bailey Printing & Imaging Realty Builder Connection
Covering events in the Realty and Building communities in Northeast Florida.
10 North Newnan Street · Jacksonville, FL 32202 · (904) 356-2466 · Fax (904) 353-2628
© 2014 Bailey Publishing & Communications, Inc. All Right Reserved.

Privacy Policy · Refund Policy