Skip to main content
Photo by Joe Wilhelm Jr. - Red Mass is a gathering of members of the legal, government and law-enforcement communities to ask for guidance from the Holy Spirit as they carry out their duties. From right are City Council Vice President Bill Gulliford a...
Jax Daily Record Monday, Oct. 29, 201212:00 PM EST

23rd annual Red Mass hosted by Immaculate Conception

by: Joe Wilhelm Jr.

Members of the legal, government and law enforcement communities gathered Thursday at Immaculate Conception Catholic Church Downtown for the 23rd annual Red Mass.

The event is described by the Catholic Lawyers Guild as “a centuries-old tradition celebrated throughout the world for elected officials, judiciary and members of the legal and law enforcement communities to gather to invoke the Holy Spirit on the justice system.”

The event includes the presentation of the Catholic Lawyers Guild Law & Spirituality Award.

Guild President Brian Cabrey presented the award to attorney and Deacon Paul Consbruck, who is the 17th recipient.

In 1997, the Catholic Lawyers Guild of the Diocese of St. Augustine created the award to be presented at the Red Mass to an individual who has exemplified his or her work in government, law enforcement or the legal field and, at the same time, has made spirituality a part of his or her work and life.

Nominations are due to the executive board by Aug. 1 of each year. The executive board votes to determine the recipient.

The board includes: President Brian Cabrey of Zisser, Robison; Vice President Maria Aguila, of the Fourth Judicial Circuit; Secretary David Heekin of Landmark Title; and Treasurer Jerilynn O’Hara of the O’Hara Law Firm.

[email protected]



Catholic Lawyers Guild’s Law & Spirituality Award Recipients

1997 — The Rev. Ralph Besendorfer, Guild Chaplain, Vicar for Priests of the Diocese of St. Augustine, canon lawyer

1998 — Circuit Judge Virginia Q. Beverly, retired

1999 — Sheriff Nathaniel Glover

2000 — Circuit Judge J. Brad Stetson, Duval County

2001 — Most Rev. John J. Snyder, Bishop of St. Augustine

2002 — Attorney Sidney S. Simmons II, chair of Bishop’s Advisory Council for National Conference of Catholic Bishops

2003 — U.S. District Judge Timothy Corrigan

2004 — Attorneys Dennis Guidi and Jerry Weedon

2005 — U.S. Attorney of the Middle District of Florida Paul Perez

2006 — Sheriff John Rutherford

2007 — Monsignor Daniel Bernard Logan

2008 — Attorney Robert Heekin

2009 — Richard Mullaney, City general counsel

2010 — Attorney Dan Brown

2011 — Attorney Dale Recinella

2012 — Attorney, Deacon Paul Consbruck

Related Stories