Skip to main content
Jax Daily Record Friday, May 24, 201911:59 AM EST

Flagler County joins Northeast Florida’s Foreign Trade Zone

The announcement by the Jacksonville Port Authority brings the number of counties to participate in the zone to nine.

A ninth county has been added to Northeast Florida’s Foreign Trade Zone No. 64.

The Jacksonville Port Authority announced Thursday that Flagler County will join the Florida Trade Zone.

Businesses based in counties that are a part of the trade zone have access to JaxPort's seaport, as well as reduced or eliminated fees on imported goods and materials until they leave the zone.

According to JPA, foreign goods may enter into a FTZ without formal customs entry for manufacturing, testing, assembly, processing, storage and distribution.

Goods not entering U.S. commerce, like items imported into a foreign trade zone but then are exported to another country, are not obligated to pay customs duties.

The eight other counties comprising Zone No. 64 are Bradford, Columbia, Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau, Putnam and St. Johns.

Flagler County’s addition will have to be approved by the U.S. Foreign Trade Zone Board, which can take up to 30 days.


Related Stories