Skip to main content
Photos by Joe Wilhelm Jr. - After Braxton Gillam, right, was sworn in as the new president of The JBA, he presented to Driver a plaque honoring his service as president.
Jax Daily Record Monday, Jun. 24, 201312:00 PM EST

Gillam becomes 110th president of The JBA

by: Joe Wilhelm Jr.

The new leader of The Jacksonville Bar Association, Braxton Gillam, was sworn in June 14 at Epping Forest Yacht Club.

Gillam, of Milam Howard Nicandri Dees & Gillam, has served on The JBA board of directors since 2004, when he was the YLS president, which serves on the board as an ex officio member.

He was elected to the board in 2005 and has served since.

"I'm from North Carolina, but (Jacksonville) is my home. You are my friends. You are my family," Gillam told the crowd.

"You have to enjoy what you do, and part of that is enjoying the people that you work with and we are lucky to have that here in Jacksonville," said Gillam.

Troy Smith, of Rogers Towers, is 2013-14 president-elect of The JBA.

Before Gillam was sworn in, President Ray Driver thanked the 90 members who attended the meeting for their support during his term.

"This was one of the most rewarding things I have done or will do as a professional," said Driver.

He talked about participating in the legal community in ways he never had before while serving as JBA president.

"I urge you to attend a naturalization ceremony if you haven't ever been to one. It was a moving experience to watch people say the Pledge of Allegiance for the first time as American citizens," said Driver.

One of his last duties as president was to award "The JBA Chair of the Year" award.

The award was created by former JBA President Dan Bean to recognize the volunteer efforts of one of the leaders of the sections or committees in the association.

The 2013 honoree is Marianne Lloyd Aho, who was chair of the Community Outreach Section. The section includes the Holiday Project, Human Rights, Law Week, Military Law and Pro Bono Committees, which each have their own chairs overseen by Aho. Previous honorees are Kathy Para of Jacksonville Area Legal Aid, Lindsay Tygart of Edwards & Ragatz and Blane McCarthy.

jwilh[email protected]


(904) 356-2466

Related Stories