Skip to main content
Jax Daily Record Monday, May 16, 202210:39 AM EST

University of North Florida names Moez Limayem president-elect

The University of South Florida dean must be confirmed by the Florida Board of Governors.
by: Max Marbut Associate Editor

The University of North Florida board announced May 16 it chose Moez Limayem as the university’s seventh president.

Limayem has been Lynn Pippenger Dean at the Muma College of Business at the University of South Florida since 2012.

“Dr. Limayem has a proven record as an innovative and accomplished leader with the vision to advance the University. The Board of Trustees especially appreciates his deep knowledge and experience working in the Florida State University System and with USF, a designated ‘preeminent’ institution,” Kevin Hyde, trustees chair, said in a news release.

Limayem’s selection must be confirmed by the Florida Board of Governors. The vote is scheduled at the board’s meeting June 29-30. 

At USF, Limayem enhanced the college’s profile and helped raise more than $126 million, the release states.

With the addition of a student success center and other initiatives, the freshman retention rate at USF increased to 95%.

Since 2021, Limayem also led USF efforts relating to career preparation and placement, internships and talent development of students.

Before USF, Limayem was associate dean for research and graduate programs at the University of Arkansas Sam M. Walton College of Business, where he oversaw business graduate programs including master’s, doctoral and executive education programs. He also was the academic director for MBA programs.

Limayem’s academic and professional awards include two recognizing efforts to foster diversity and inclusion, the Excellence in Diversity Award at the Sam M. Walton College of Business at UA and the Diversity Award, presented at the USF System Diversity Summit.

Limayem serves on the board of directors of the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International. He received an MBA and Ph.D. in business administration from the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota. 

Limayem succeeds David Szymanski, who was UNF’s president from 2018 to 2021. 

Previous presidents include John Delaney (2003-18), Anne Hopkins (1999-2002), Adam W. Herbert (1989-98), Curtis McCray (1982-88) and founding president Thomas Carpenter (1969-80). 

Pamela Chally has been UNF’s interim president since September 2021.

Be the first to know the latest breaking news and information that business leaders rely on in this fast-paced changing Northeast Florida economy. Regional business news, trends and statistics needed to grow your business. Key upcoming events you won’t want to miss and much more. Click Here to Grow your Business NOW!

Related Stories