Jacksonville Women's Lawyer Association honors its Woman Lawyer of the Year

  • By
  • | 12:00 p.m. June 3, 2005
  • News
  • Share

The Jacksonville Women’s Lawyer Association welcomed lawyers and judges from Jacksonville to “An Evening of “Judicial Jazz” Thursday night at the Hyatt Regency.

Besides being a chance for the different facets of the legal community to mingle, the event was also put on to recognize one of Jacksonville’s top female attorneys or judges. This year’s recipient of JWLA’s annual Woman Lawyer of the Year Award was County Court Judge Eleni Derke. The annual recipient of the award is recognized for her outstanding accomplishments or significant contributions in the areas of pro bono service, professionalism, community involvement, legal service or other noteworthy cause. Past recipients include Linda Calvert Hanson in 2003 and Cindy Laquidara in 2004.

The JWLA also announced its 2005-06 Board of Directors: Deborah Greene (President); Patricia Dodson (President-elect); Susan Haag (Vice-President of Professional Development); Amanda Rolfe (Vice-President of Membership & Events); Ingrid Bethel (Vice-President of Public Relations); Grace Van Houten (Vice-President of Information Technologies); Vicki Nemerson (Secretary); and Maria Keebler (Treasurer).

Background jazz music for the event was provided by the K&S Trio.