Skip to main content
Jax Daily Record Friday, Sep. 14, 200112:00 PM EST

Leadership trip: 115 so far


Mayor John Delaney, 11 City Council members and four School Board members are among the 115 who already have signed up for the Chamber of Commerce’s annual Leadership Trip.

This year’s trip is Oct. 10-12 to Nashville, where the local group will have tours of various facilities, meet top government officials and participate in study groups.

The Council will be led by its president, Matt Carlucci, and vice president, Suzanne Jenkins. Also going are Warren Alvarez, Elaine Brown, Gwen Chandler-Thompson, Reggie Fullwood, Alberta Hipps, Pat Lockett-Felder, Jim Overton, Lynette Self and Gwen Yates.

School Board members are Martha Barrett, Jimmie Johnson, Linda Sparks and chair Susan Wilkinson.

The mayor’s office also is sending chief administrator Sam Mousa and publicist Sharon Ashton.

The Chamber leadership is going, headed by chair Carol Thompson of Baptist Health and her successor for 2002, attorney Lynn Pappas, and the incoming chair-elect, Jim McCollum of BellSouth.

Others going include University of North Florida president Anne Hopkins, Jacksonville Jaguars vice president Michael Huyghue, AmSouth city president Marty Lanahan, PGA Tour lobbyist Richard Bowers and Bank of America president Mac Holley.

The trip costs about $1,950 per person with a $300 discount for government officials.

Who’s going on Leadership Trip

Here is the list of participants who have signed up to date for the Chamber’s 2001 Leadership trip to Nashville:

Jerry R. Agresti, WorkSource

Barry L. Allred, Elkins Constructors, Inc.

Warren Alvarez, City Council

Sharon Ashton, Mayor’s office

Dave Auchter, The Auchter Company

Robert F. Baldwin, Chamber Alliance of Small Enterprises

Michael A. Barile, Public Libraries Foundation

Martha E. Barrett, School Board

Lynette Beitz, Chamber of Commerce

Kathy Bolesworth, Chamber of Commerce

Richard Bowers, PGA Tour

Cheryl Brown, City Council

Elaine Brown, City Council

Linda Brunson, Information Systems of Florida

Rita R. Cannon, Public Libraries Foundation

Karen S. Carlucci, Matt Carlucci State Farm

Matt Carlucci, City Council president

Catherine Chadeayne-Goldman, State of Florida

Gwen Chandler-Thompson, City Council

Paula Chaon, Chamber of Commerce

John Clark, JIA

Robert W. Clarkson, The Clarkson Company

W. Frank Cobbin Jr., Aetna U.S. Healthcare

Meredith Connell, Chamber of Commerce

Tracy Danese, JEA

Richard D. Danford, Urban League

John A. Delaney, mayor

Debra C. DeMello, Carlson Wagonlit Travel

Steven Diebenow, Rogers, Towers, Bailey, Jones & Gay

Cheryl Donelan Grymes, Alliance for World Class Education

Julian E. Fant, First Guaranty Bank & Trust

Ronnie Ferguson, Jacksonville Housing Authority

Reggie Fullwood, City Council

James H. Gilmore Jr., Agency Approval & Development, Inc.

Lynn Grafel, WorkSource

Don Green, FCCJ

Hugh Greene, Baptist Health

Warren Grymes, Navigant International

T.R. Hainline, Rogers, Towers, Bailey, Jones & Gay

John Haley, Chamber of Commerce

M.C. Harden III, Harden & Associates

Denise Henderson-Thomas, Chamber of Commerce

Michael Hightower, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Florida

Alberta Hipps, City Council

Mac Holley, Bank of America

Anne H. Hopkins, UNF president

G. Alan Howard, Milam & Howard, P.A.

Michael L. Huyghue, Jacksonville Jaguars

Leerie T. Jenkins, Reynolds, Smith & Hills

Suzanne Jenkins, City Council vice president

Jimmie A. Johnson, School Board

Bob Johnson, City auditor

Mia Jones, Duval County

John Kiddy, Jacksonville Landing

Leslie Kirkwood, Public Libraries Foundation

Marty Lanahan, AmSouth Bank

Linda Lanier, Sulzbacher Center

Sheila Lee, wife of Chamber president Wally Lee

Wally Lee, Chamber president

Pat Lockett-Felder, City Council

Terry Lorince, Downtown Vision, Inc.

Jerry Mallot, Chamber of Commerce

Timothy Mann, Swisher International Group, Inc.

Larry Marscheck, Downtown Council

Don McClure, The Clarkson Company

Jim McCollum, BellSouth

Eddie McKinney, Arlington Council

Frank E. Millor, Pappas Metcalf Jenks & Miller

Teala A. Milton, JEA

Derek W. Morse, JTA

Sam Mousa, Mayor’s Office

Richard A. Mullaney, City general counsel

Marsha Myers, Lee Hecht Harrison

Lamar Nash, The Haskell Company

Jim Overton, City Council

M. Lynn Pappas, Pappas, Metcalf, Jenks & Miller and Chamber chair-elect Sally Patch, Chamber of Commerce

John Peyton, Gate Petroleum Company

Ju’Coby Pittman, Clara White Mission

Juanita Pitts Rankin, Bessent, Hammack & Ruckman

Kathleen M. Ratcliffe, CVB president

Kay Redington, Brooks Health Foundation

Wayne C. Reed, R-A-M Professional Group

Dana Rigdon, Jacksonville University

Joyce Riley, Chamber of Commerce

John D. Rood, The Vestcor Companies

Lisa K. Rowe Baer, Downtown Council

Madeline Scales-Taylor, Mayo Clinic

Anna Scheu, Chamber of Commerce

John J. Schickel, Coker, Myers, Schickel, Higgenbotham, Sorenson & Green

Jack Schmidt, Carlson Wagonlit Travel

John R. Schmitt, SunTrust Bank

Lynette Self, City Council

Michael J. Shalley, St. Joe Company

Judy Smith, Volunteer Jacksonville

J. Thomas Solano, Information Systems of Florida

Mary Ann Southwell, City Council

Linda Sparks, School Board

Steve St. Amand, Junior Achievement

J. Franklin Stallwood, PG&E National Energy Group

Jennifer A. Steinke, Carlson Wagonlit Travel

Michael Stewart, BellSouth

Stephan Stewart, Bessent, Hammack & Ruckman

John Strom, PricewaterhouseCoopers

Carol Thompson, Baptist Health and Chamber chairman

Joseph Thompson, Gresham, Smith and Partners

Bob Touchton, PathTech Software Solutions

Cheryle M. Touchton, PathTech Software Solutions

Denice Wallace, Stokes & Company

Deborah D. Walters, The Walters Law Firm

Edward W. White Jr. Auld & White Constructors

Susan S. Wilkinson, School Board

Winston Wilkinson, First Union

Linda Wilson, Chamber of Commerce

Gwen Yates, City Council

Related Stories