Skip to main content
Jax Daily Record Monday, Jun. 24, 201905:20 AM EST

New membership year begins for Jacksonville Bar Association

Association’s new president, president-elect and board of governors is inducted.
by: Max Marbut Associate Editor

The Jacksonville Bar Association’s 2019-20 membership year began Wednesday with the induction of the association’s new president, president-elect and board of governors.

Circuit Judge Katie Dearing called the meeting to order – the last one of her year as president of the association – and a few minutes later, put on her judicial robe and administered to oath of office to her successor, Elizabeth Ferguson.

Members of the Jacksonville Bar Association 2019-20 board of governors, from left, Asghar Syed, Jamie Karpman, Blane McCarthy, Brian Coughlin, Adina Pollan and Christian George are sworn in by Circuit Judge Katie Dearing.

Ferguson, a shareholder at Marshall Dennehy Warner Coleman & Goggin, joined the JBA Young Lawyers Section in 2006 and served on the section’s board until 2012, when she was elected to the association’s board of governors.

“It has been a long and rewarding road to get here,” Ferguson said after she took office.

Michelle Bedoya Barnett, a partner at Alexander DeGance Barnett, was sworn in as president-elect.

Dearing presented the Committee Chair of the Year award to Alison Hickman and Mike Jorgensen, co-chairs of the Elder Law Committee.

The President’s Award was presented to Blane McCarthy in recognition of his contributions to making the JBA’s CLE programs and annual seminars successful, Dearing said.

Michelle Bedoya Barnett, a partner at Alexander DeGance Barnett is sworn in as president-elect.


Be the first to know the latest breaking news and information that business leaders rely on in this fast-paced changing Northeast Florida economy. Regional business news, trends and statistics needed to grow your business. Key upcoming events you won’t want to miss and much more. Click Here to Grow your Business NOW!

Related Stories