Bowman names City Council committee chairs

Anderson to head Finance; Schellenberg remains in charge of Land Use and Zoning.

  • By
  • | 6:34 p.m. June 27, 2018
  • | 5 Free Articles Remaining!
Aaron Bowman
Aaron Bowman
  • News
  • Share

City Council President-designate Aaron Bowman chose council member Greg Anderson to chair the powerful Finance Committee in the 2018-19 council year.

Bowman, who becomes council president Sunday, announced his committee assignments Wednesday.

A Republican, Bowman placed four Republicans and one Democrat in chair positions. The same is true for vice chair roles.

As president, Bowman does not serve on any standing committee. Vice President-designate Scott Wilson has two assignments.

With both Katrina Brown and Reginald Brown suspended from council by Gov. Rick Scott as they face a federal indictment, four committee spots are vacant.

Those eventually will be filled by whoever the governor appoints in their absence, serving on two committees each.

Bowman gave two assignments to all council members except Garrett Dennis, a Democrat representing District 9. He chaired the Finance Committee in the current council year under President Anna Lopez Brosche.

Anderson, a Republican who represents At-Large Group 3, will lead Finance with vice chair Joyce Morgan, a Democrat. The committee will include Lori Boyer, Reginald Gaffney, Bill Gulliford, Jim Love and Sam Newby.

Unlike in 2017-18, only one North Jacksonville District council member, Gaffney, a Democrat, will have a seat on Finance.

For the second year in a row, Republican Matt Schellenberg will chair the Land Use and Zoning Committee with Republican Danny Becton as vice chair. Also serving are Brosche, Doyle Carter, Al Ferraro and Gaffney. This committee has a vacant seat.

Former Jacksonville Mayor and At-Large Group 3 representative Tommy Hazouri, a Democrat, is the new Rules Committee chair, with Gulliford, a Republican, as vice chair.

Anderson, Boyer, John Crescimbeni, Schellenberg and one of the governor’s replacements will serve as well.

District 2 council member Ferraro, a Republican, will chair the Transportation, Energy and Utilities Committee alongside Vice Chair Jim Love, also a Republican. Becton, Brosche, Crescimbeni, Wilson and a replacement by the governor also will serve.

Bowman selected Newby to chair and Carter to vice chair the Neighborhoods, Community Services, Public Health and Safety Committee. Both are Republicans.

They will be joined by Dennis, Hazouri, Morgan, Wilson and a replacement for either Katrina Brown or Reginald Brown.

Council is on a mandatory summer break July 2-13.

Committees will begin the week of July 16. The first full council meeting under Bowman’s leadership is 5 p.m. July 24.



Special Offer: $5 for 2 Months!

Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning business news.