Retired banker Debbie Buckland to chair JTA board

Attorney Ray Driver Jr. is elevated from secretary to vice chair.

  • Business
  • Share

Debbie Buckland will chair the Jacksonville Transportation Authority board of directors in 2023, with Ray Driver Jr. serving as vice chair.

Buckland and Driver were approved Jan. 6 during the JTA Board of Directors Nominating Committee meeting.

Gov. Ron DeSantis appointed Buckland to the JTA board in 2019. She was vice chair since 2021 under Immediate past Chair Ari Jolly.

“Since 2019, Debbie Buckland’s contributions to the JTA Board of Directors have helped the JTA provide mobility solutions to Jacksonville and the entire Northeast Florida region,” JTA CEO Nathaniel Ford Sr. said in a news release.

Buckland retired in 2021 as market president for Truist Bank in Jacksonville following a 40-year career in banking and finance. 

She is a past chair of JAX Chamber, Downtown Vision Inc. and the American Cancer Society.

Buckland is a member of the Truist Jacksonville Advisory Board, Wolfson Children’s Hospital Women’s Board, Jacksonville Women’s Network and the Women’s Giving Alliance.

She was inducted into the First Coast Business Hall of Fame in 2019 and is a recent recipient of the DTJax Downtown Achievement Award. 

She was a founding member of the Jacksonville Women’s Business Center and the steering committee of JAX Chamber’s Elevate Women initiative.

DeSantis appointed Driver to the JTA board in 2019. Driver was elected secretary in 2022.

He has practiced law for more than 20 years and is a founding partner of Driver, McAfee, Hawthorne & Diebenow.

Driver represents clients in business acquisitions, dispositions and mergers, business formation, corporate governance, contract law and related legal issues.