Wilson names Jacksonville City Council committee chairs

Outgoing council President Aaron Bowman will chair Finance Committee while second-term Democrat Joyce Morgan will head the Rules Committee.

Scott Wilson and Aaron Bowman
Scott Wilson and Aaron Bowman
  • Government
  • Share

Jacksonville City Council President-designate Scott Wilson selected his predecessor, outgoing council President Aaron Bowman, to chair the influential Finance Committee for the 2019-20 session.

 Wilson, who will officially become president Thursday at the council installation ceremony, announced his committee assignments Monday. 

Second-term Democrat Joyce Morgan, who represents Jacksonville’s District 1, will chair the Rules Committee. Morgan nominated Wilson, a Republican, for the presidency on of the floor of the council chambers in May and is the only Democrat to be given a committee leadership role.

Each council member was assigned two committee posts for the coming year except City Council Vice President-designate Tommy Hazouri, a Democrat, who will be a member of the Finance Committee.

Hazouri is the current Finance chair and a former Jacksonville mayor. Hazouri supported sitting Mayor Lenny Curry, a Republican, in his March reelection bid and is a favorite to be named council president for the 2020-21 session.

Republican Terrance Freeman, who will move from District 10 to At-large Group 1 in July, will chair the Transportation, Energy and Utilities Committee with first-term At-large Group 2 council member Ron Salem as vice chair.

District 11 Republican Danny Becton will chair the Land Use and Zoning Committee with District 6 council member Michael Boylan as vice chair. 

Randy White, a second-term Republican in District 12, will chair the Neighborhoods, Community Services Public Health and Safety Committee. At-large Group 4 Council Member-elect Matt Carlucci, a former council member and mayoral candidate, will serve as White’s vice chair.

First-term District 5 Council Member LeAnna Cumber will be Bowman’s Finance Committee vice chair, and District 13 council member Rory Diamond will vice chair the Rules Committee. Bowman also is a Republican.

The 2019-20 City Council installation ceremony is 6 p.m. Thursday in the Jacoby Hall Auditorium at the Times Union Center for Performing Arts, 300 Water Street.





Special Offer: $5 for 2 Months!

Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning business news.