Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee for Republican National Convention names members

The 32 members include lawmakers, government officials and business leaders.

  • Government
  • Share

The Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee for the Republican National Convention announced its 32 members in a news release June 18.

The group is preparing the city for the Aug. 24-27 event Downtown that will culminate with the nomination and acceptance speech by President Donald Trump at VyStar Veterans Memorial Arena.

“Community and business leaders from here in Jacksonville and across the Sunshine State are sharing their time, talent and experience to ensure Jacksonville is able to host a successful convention for our visitors on this expedited timeframe,” said Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry, committee co-chair, in the news release. “We are thrilled to host the Republican National Convention this August and look forward to sharing with the rest of the country the things that make Jacksonville, and our people, so special.”

Here are the members of the Jacksonville 2020 Host Committee:


• Jacksonville Mayor Curry

• Brian Ballard, Ballard Partners president

Committee members, lawmakers:

• U.S. Rep. John Rutherford, R-Jacksonville

• U.S. Rep. Michael Waltz, R-Boynton Beach

• Florida Senate President Bill Galvano, R-Bradenton

• Florida House Speaker Jose Oliva, R-Miami-Dade

• Florida Senate President-designate Wilton Simpson, R-Trilby

• Florida House Speaker-designate Chris Sprowls, R-Palm Harbor

• Florida Senate Appropriations Chair Rob Bradley, R-Orange Park

• Florida House Appropriations Chair Travis Cummings, R-Fleming Island

Government and business leaders:

• Fernando Acosta Rua, Pet Paradise president and CEO 

• Andy Allen, Corner Lot Properties CEO

• Max Alvarez, founder and president of Sunshine Gasoline Distributors

• John Baker, chairman and CEO of FRP Holdings, Inc. and JEA board of directors chair

• Pam Bondi, former Florida Attorney General and chair of Ballard Partners Corporate Regulatory Compliance

• Ed Burr, president and CEO of GreenPointe Holdings, LLC

• Robert Coker, senior vice president, public affairs, of U.S. Sugar

• Michael Corrigan, Visit Jacksonville president and CEO

• J. David and Jodi Coxwell, president of J.B. Coxwell Contracting

• Daniel Davis, president and CEO of JAX Chamber

• Carol Dover, president and CEO of the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association

• Nat Ford, Jacksonville Transportation Authority CEO

• Josh Garrison, President of Miranda Contracting

• Dr. Leon L. Haley Jr., vice president for health affairs, University of Florida; dean, College of Medicine - Jacksonville; CEO, UF Health Jacksonville; JEA board of directors member

• Bishop Vaughn McLaughin, founder and senior pastor of the Potter’s House International Ministries

• Rick Morales, president of Morales Construction Co.

• Tom Petway, Jacksonville business and civic leader

• Ty Petway, CEO US Assure

• John Rood, founder of The Vestcor Companies

• Kent Stermon, COO of Total Military Management

• Aundra Wallace, JAXUSA Partnership president




Special Offer: $5 for 2 Months!

Your free article limit has been reached this month.
Subscribe now for unlimited digital access to our award-winning business news.